animal care service / dierenoppasdienst

This week has been quite busy as we were asked by friends who are on holidays to take care of their pets.
Unfortunately for me I got sick (stomach and bowel troubles, probably a stomach flu) because of which I couldn’t go to work. :/
For all the animals it has been a lucky coïncidence however, since it has given me plenty of time to take care of all of them. In the morning I’ve been going to our friends’ house and made sure all of their animals had enough food, fresh water to drink and I usually take a toy and the camera with me to play with them and take some pictures.
I usually stay for a couple of hours – well I can recover from being sick in someone else’s couch as well as mine. 😉
In the evenings Oli usually joins me to help out.

The rest of the days, I spend at home in the couch, sleeping or watching tv. On Tuesday evening, Killian’s Weimaraner friend Fleur arrived for a short stay until yesterday. They enjoyed having company and being able to play together and really are the best of friends. 🙂 They’re both a little older than last time and they were much calmer and more at ease. We actually had no trouble at all and they were both really quiet inside the house.

I also took the opportunity when I got some fresh air outside to take some new pictures of our rabbits and chickens. As you can see, Sazie has completely recovered!

But enough talking, here are some pictures!

____________________________________

Deze week passen we op de dieren van vrienden die met vakantie zijn. Bij mij kwam er dan nog eens bij dat ik geveld ben door maag- en darmproblemen (waarschijnlijk een buikgriep) :/, maar voor de oppasdiertjes was dat een geluk bij een ongeluk. Of ik nu in mijn eigen zetel lig te recupereren of in de zetel op het oppasadres, voor mij is het niet veel verschil, maar voor de dieren in kwestie natuurlijk wel.

‘s ochtends ga ik naar het oppasadres om de kippen los te laten en om alle dieren van eten en drinken te voorzien. Ik neem dan meestal ook een speeltje mee en mijn camera, om wat met de katten te spelen en een paar foto’s te nemen. Daarna zet ik me in de zetel met Kobe erbij en blijf er wat zitten tv kijken.

‘s Avonds gaat Oli meestal met me mee om een handje toe te steken. 😉

Voor de rest heb ik mijn dagen de afgelopen week in de zetel doorgebracht: al slapend of tv kijkend.

Dinsdagavond is Killian zn Weimaranervriendinnetje Fleur toegekomen voor een kort logeerpartijtje. Ze is tot gisterenavond gebleven en die twee hebben zich geweldig geamuseerd en hebben weer genoten van elkaars gezelschap. Nu ze allebei wat ouder zijn dan bij het vorige logeerpartijtje, is er ook echt een merkbaar verschil: ze zijn allebei veel rustiger geworden. In huis waren ze heel braaf en kalm en lagen ze eigenlijk voornamelijk te slapen.

Ik heb ook van de extra tijd thuis gebruik gemaakt om, als ik een frisse neus ging halen buiten, wat nieuwe foto’s van de konijntjes en kippen te maken. Zoals je kunt zien, is Sazie weer helemaal de oude!

Maar genoeg gepraat, hier zijn de foto’s!

The chickens at our friends’ place / de kippetjes van onze vrienden:

Their outdoor cats, they are cats who came to live with them. They are either street cats or cats who were dumped by their previous owners / Hun buitenkatjes, katten die zijn komen aanlopen en zijn gebleven.

The indoor cats / De binnenkatjes:

The parents of our Esme live with them:
QT (Esme’s mother) / (de mama van Esme)

and Kobe (Esme’s father) / (de papa van Esme)

our/onze Esme:

And Axxes’ mother Olive lives there too (as well as some of his sisters) / Axxes zn mama Olive woont er ook (net als enkele van zijn zusjes)

our/onze Axxes:

Kobe enjoyed the moments when I stayed over to watch some tv there / Kobe vond het niet erg dat ik af en toe wat langer op het oppasadres bleef:

The way to & from the house was a quite bumpy and even a bit scary when it was dark. / De weg heen&terug was wat hobbelig en zelfs wat creepy in het donker.

Pictures of Fleur & Killian together / Fleur en Killian samen:

Willow and his cardboard box / Willow en zijn kartonnen doos

Sazie & Hermelijn

the chickens / de kippen

3 thoughts on “animal care service / dierenoppasdienst

  1. hey Karolien, je hebt precies niet veel tijd gehad om ziek te zijn met al die beestjes. Misschien maar goed, die hebben waarschijnlijk voor afleiding gezorgd. Ik hoop dat je volgende week niet de weerbots krijgt, want zo’n buikgriep blijft nog een paar weken nazinderen ….

  2. Oh, I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been sick!! Hope you’re all better now. You did get some WONDERFUL pictures, though! I love all the cat portraits and especially the one of Killian running, where you can see his back paw pads – so cute! 🙂

    By the way,I’m embarrassed to say this but I just realised that I didn’t have this blog in our Google Reader – which is why I didn’t realise you were updating with new posts! So I’m sorry we haven’t been visiting! But I’ve added it now – so hopefully, I should be able to keep up better! Although things have been a bit “difficult” lately at home so I haven’t had much time to visit blog friends anyway – but hopefully, things will get better soon! 🙂

    Hsin-Yi & Slobbers, from Honey

Leave a Reply

