Life goes on…

At least so they say… Even though to me it still seems like the world is standing still. Had plenty of difficult moments this week, realising every single time that one of our most beloved family members is gone… In the morning when giving breakfast to the cats and there were only four bowls to fill instead of five. Only four cats begging for food, only four cats doing their best to make me trip on the stairs… An empty spot in the sofa in the evening when watching tv, no cat getting a nap at my side while doing the ironing,… Even though there are still four cats and two dogs in the house, it feels emptier than ever. It’ll take time to let it all go to rest…

Another thing that is quite striking, is the fact that when things are going bad, you indeed get to know who your real friends are. There are a lot of people who surprised me by sending an e-mail, a text message or left a message on our blog or through facebook. It was really heart-warming to see the messages of all of you and even though it doesn’t change what happened, it has been a real comfort for us. On the other hand, there have been those who don’t see that for us Pixel is not “just a cat” – all this time she has been a real family member, just like all our pets are. And yes, it definately hurts when you loose someone so dear! But on the other hand: this shows who your real friends are: the people who did ask about what happened, the people who did say they were sorry, the ones who did express their sympathies. To all of those people, I would like to say a big thank you, cause your words have been a great support this past week.

I was looking at Pixel’s photos of the past seven years and made a slideshow with some of those pictures. When I look at those images, I think I can say that – even though our time together was way too short – we managed to give her a good life filled with love and many happy moments.

__________________________________

Dat zeggen ze dan… Hoewel het voor mij nog steeds lijkt alsof de wereld stilstaat. Heb enkele moeilijke momenten gehad deze week waarbij ik er telkens opnieuw mee geconfronteerd werd dat een van onze meest geliefde familieleden is verdwenen… ‘s Ochtends bij het ontbijt als er slechts vier kommen gevuld moesten worden in plaats van vijf, als er maar vier katten voor eten kwamen bedelen en er maar vier katten hun best doen om me te doen struikelen op de trap… Een lege plek in de zetel bij het tv-kijken ‘s avonds, geen kat meer die naast me ligt te slapen terwijl ik de strijk doe… Ook al zijn er nog vier katten en twee honden in huis, het voelt leger dan ooit . Het zal tijd kosten eer we het kunnen laten rusten…

Iets anders wat opvalt, is het feit dat je in mindere momenten inderdaad je echte vrienden leert kennen. Er zijn een heleboel mensen die mij verrast hebben door een mailtje of smsje te sturen, of die een boodschap hebben achtergelaten op onze blog of via facebook. Dat was echt hartverwarmend en hoewel het niets verandert aan wat er gebeurd is, is het zeker een troost geweest voor ons . Aan de andere kant zijn er mensen die niet kunnen begrijpen dat Pixel voor ons niet “gewoon maar een kat” was – al die tijd is ze een volwaardig deel van ons gezin geweest, net als al onze andere huisdieren zijn. En ja, het doet veel doet pijn als je iemand dierbaar verliest! Maar aan de andere kant: dit laat zien wie onze echte vrienden zijn: de mensen die vragen wat er gebeurd is, de mensen die zeggen dat ze het jammer vinden voor ons, degenen die hun medeleven tonen. Al die mensen, zou ik heel erg willen bedanken, want jullie woorden zijn een grote steun geweest deze week .

Ik was naar foto’s van Pixel aan het kijken van de afgelopen zeven jaar en heb een slideshow gemaakt met een aantal van die foto’s. Als ik daar naar kijk, denk ik dat ik toch mag zeggen dat – hoewel onze tijd samen veel te kort was – we erin geslaagd zijn haar een mooi leven te geven gevuld met liefde en veel gelukkige momenten.

Click to play this Smilebox slideshow
Create your own slideshow - Powered by Smilebox
This free photo slideshow customized with Smilebox
2 thoughts on “Life goes on…

Leave a Reply

